Breuershofstraße 19 / 47807 Krefeld

© 2019 by Wirtz Werkzeugbau GmbH

Tel. 0049 (0) 2151 31970

1/1

About us

„Mechanical engineering with basic toolmaking“ would probably be the most accurate short description of Wirtz Werkzeugbau GmbH. To this day, the genes of high-precision toolmaking from the founding days are present everywhere. In fact, this is exactly what our philosophy is about. Initially simple combinations of high-precision punching, forming or cutting tools have evolved into complex and highly automated process chains - and still carry the seal of approval of „toolmaking“. Wherever series production requires automation concepts, we feel at home.

From planning, development to the finished product, you get everything from a single source. As an established partner of the automotive supplier industry, we have years of „front-line experience“ and are thoroughly familiar with the rules of the game.

Our highly competent team of top-class engineers, technicians, foremen and skilled workers as well as long-standing strong cooperation partners develop manufacturing concepts that are like quality custom made suits - the customer specifies the occasion, we in turn advise, create and ensure accurate manufacturing.
And if one day a button should come loose, we sew it back on.


Company owner/CEO Thomas Wirtz and his team will be pleased to assist you. Together with the creative specialists of the company we will develop solutions for your task definitions.

1/1

History

1979

At the age of 32, master toolmaker and mechanical engineer Theo Wirtz establishes the company Wirtz Werkzeugbau GmbH. The first temporary employees are father Robert Wirtz (also a toolmaker and mechanical engineer) and the two brothers Heinz and Hans Wirtz (both toolmakers). At that time, the work space incl. workshop and offi ce was less than 200 m². The fi rst tool and machine parts as well as spare parts are produced on behalf of customers.

1981

The first company building is constructed. Now 500 m² are available for the workshop plus just over 100 m² for offices. Meanwhile the workforce numbers 7 employees plus 2 temporary workers and the machinery continues to grow. The company makes a name for itself among its customers as a reliable partner in the manufacture of precision components.

1984

The 16-year-old son Thomas Wirtz begins his education as a toolmaker, joining the family tradition.

1991

Today‘s factory 1 is built. Completely new possibilities are available. Now almost 1,800 m² are available, including production hall and office space. The size of the workshop with large crane runways allows the expansion of the product range - the first small machines are produced in addition to precision tools. The core workforce exceeds 20 and training already plays a permanent role.

1992

At the age of 24, Thomas Wirtz is a mechanical engineer and successfully passes his exam as a master toolmaker. He takes over his first small management tasks in the company. The number of employees quickly grows to over 30 and shift work is introduced in production. The company establishes a permanent development and construction department. First steps towards automation are taken. CAD/CAM and wire-cut EDM are already being introduced in the early phase.

1999

A new assembly hall (today‘s factory 2) with an additional area of almost 1,400 m² is built. Once again, this opens up extensive new possibilities for expanding the product range. Meanwhile, complex machines with a constantly increasing degree of automation are being developed in Krefeld. Wirtz Werkzeugbau
is an established partner of the automotive supplier industry. The first machines are delivered to the US.

2000

Thomas Wirtz becomes managing director next to his father Theo Wirtz. The company now supplies internationally active customers with tools and machines. Firm cooperations with friendly companies are established in order to increase the possibilities even more. A separate electrical department with electrical planning, switch cabinet construction and software development is created. In the coming years the tools, devices and machines become increasingly complex. More and more fully automated production plants are developed and built.

2013

The 66 year old company founder Theo Wirtz officially retires from the management and hands over the remaining shares to Thomas Wirtz. However, he still has an advisory and helping capacity to this day. In addition to Europe and USA, Wirtz Werkzeugbau now also supplies tools and machines to Central America and Asia. In the next few years, several expansions are carried out.

2014

Plant 3 is opened - there are another 700m² added. With this expansion, the electrical department, the order picking and the logistics department are growing. In addition, a professional preproduction is created.

2015

Tim Wirtz (grandson of Theo and son of Thomas) begins his mechanical engineering studies, now representing the 4th generation. The company employs over 70 people.

2016

A warehouse with 650m² will be added. As a result, the assembly areas are significantly relieved and a more professional logistics achieved. The entire operating area now has almost 5,000 m²

2019

Further expansion possibilities have been added. 350m² of office space with 1400m² construction area in optimal position for an additional production hall are ready.

2019

Building on proven methods and developing them further has been the motto of Wirtz Werkzeugbau GmbH for almost 40 years now. Having our finger on the pulse of the times across generations has to be the direction for the successful continuation of the company‘s history. Just like the past, the future will certainly be full of exciting times - we are looking forward to them.

1/1

Wir über uns

„Maschinenbau mit Basis Werkzeugbau“ – das wäre wahrscheinlich die treffendste Kurzbeschreibung der Firma Wirtz Werkzeugbau GmbH. Bis heute sind die Gene des hochpräzisen Werkzeugbaus aus Gründertagen allgegenwertig. Und tatsächlich ist es genau das, was unsere Grundphilosophie ausmacht. Aus anfänglich einfachen Verknüpfungen hochpräziser Stanz-, Umform- oder Schneidwerkzeuge sind im Verlauf komplexe und hoch-automatisierte Prozessverkettungen geworden - und immer noch steht das Gütesiegel „Werkzeugbau“ drauf. Überall dort, wo die Serienfertigung Automatisierungskonzepte benötigt, fühlen wir uns zuhause.

Von der Planung über die Entwicklung zum fertigen Produkt bekommen Sie bei uns alles aus einer Hand. Als fester Partner der Automobil-Zulieferindustrie haben wir jahrelange „Fronterfahrung“ und kennen die Spielregeln bestens.
Mit unserem schlagfertigen Team aus hochkarätigen Ingenieuren, Technikern, Meistern und Facharbeitern sowie langjährigen starken Kooperationspartnern entstehen Fertigungskonzepte wie gute Maßanzüge – der Kunde nennt den Anlass, wir beraten, kreieren und fertigen passgenau. Und sollte eines Tages ein Knopf lose sein, nähen wir ihn wieder an.
Firmeninhaber Thomas Wirtz und sein Team beraten Sie gerne. Gemeinsam mit den kreativen Fachleuten des Unternehmens werden Ihnen Lösungen für Ihre Aufgabenstellungen erarbeitet.

1/1

Historie

1979:

Im Alter von 32 Jahren gründet der Werkzeugmachermeister und Maschinenbautechniker Theo Wirtz das Unternehmen Wirtz Werkzeugbau GmbH. Erste Mitarbeiter sind aushilfsweise der Vater Robert Wirtz (ebenfalls Werkzeugmacher und Maschinenbautechniker) sowie die beiden Brüder Heinz und Hans Wirtz (beide Werkzeugmacher). Die Arbeitsfläche inkl. Werkstatt und Büro war damals unter 200m². Es entstehen erste Werkzeugbau- und Maschinenbauteile sowie Ersatzteile im Kundenauftrag.

1981:

Das erste eigene Firmengebäude wird erstellt. Nun stehen 500m² Werkstatt zzgl. gut 100m² Bürofläche zur Verfügung. Es sind inzwischen 7 Mitarbeiter zzgl. 2 Aushilfen beschäftigt und der Maschinenpark wächst weiter. Das Unternehmen macht sich im Kundenkreis einen Namen als zuverlässiger Partner in der Herstellung von Präzisionsbauteilen.

1984:

Der 16 jährige Sohn Thomas Wirtz beginnt seine Ausbildung zum Werkzeugmacher und tritt damit in die Familientradition ein.

1991:

Das heutige Werk 1 wird gebaut. Es stehen vollkommen neue Möglichkeiten zur Verfügung. Inkl. Fertigungshalle und Büroflä-chen stehen nun knapp 1.800m² zur Verfügung. Die Größe der Werkshalle mit großen Kranbahnen erlaubt die Ausweitung der Produktpalette – es entstehen neben Präzisionswerkzeugen erste kleine Maschinen. Der Mitarbeiterstamm liegt bei über 20 und Ausbildung spielt bereits eine beständige Rolle.

1992:

Mit 24 Jahren ist Thomas Wirtz inzwischen Maschinen-bautechniker und legt erfolgreich seine Prüfung zum Werk-zeugmachermeister ab. Er übernimmt im Unternehmen erste kleine Führungsaufgaben. Der Mitarbeiterstamm wächst schnell auf über 30 und in der Produktion wird die Schichtarbeit eingeführt. Das Unternehmen gründet eine feste Entwicklungs- und Konstruktionsabteilung. Erste Schritte in Richtung Auto-matisierung beginnen. Es wird bereits in der Frühphase CAD/CAM sowie das Drahterodieren eingeführt.

1999:

Es entsteht eine neue Montagehalle (das heutige Werk 2) mit zusätzlichen knapp 1.400m² Fläche. Wiederum eröffnen sich hierdurch umfangreiche neue Möglichkeiten für die Erweiterung der Produktpalette. Mittlerweile entstehen in Krefeld komplexe Maschinen mit ständig wachsendem Automatisierungsgrad. Wirtz Werkzeugbau ist fester Partner der Automobil-zulieferindustrie. Erste Maschinen werden in die USA geliefert.

2000:

Thomas Wirtz wird neben Vater Theo Wirtz Geschäftsführer. Das Unternehmen beliefert inzwischen international tätige Kun-den mit Werkzeugen und Maschinen. Feste Kooperationen zu befreundeten Unternehmen werden geknüpft, um die Möglich-keiten nochmals zu erweitern. Es entsteht eine eigene Elektro-abteilung mit E-Planung, Schaltschrankbau und Software-Entwicklung. In den kommenden Jahren werden die Werk-zeuge, Vorrichtungen und Maschinen immer komplexer. Es wer-den zunehmend mehr vollautomatisierte Fertigungsanlagen ent-wickelt und gebaut.

2013:

Der 66 jährige Unternehmensgründer Theo Wirtz zieht sich offiziell aus der Geschäftsführung zurück
und übergibt die restlichen Gesellschafteranteile an Thomas Wirtz. Er bleibt aber bis heute in beratender und helfender Funktion erhalten. Wirtz Werkzeugbau liefert Werkzeuge und Maschinen neben Europa und USA nun auch nach Mittelamerika sowie Asien. Für die nächsten Jahren werden mehrere Erweiterungen geplant.

2014:

Werk 3 wird eröffnet - es kommen weitere 700m² hinzu. Mit dieser Erweiterung wächst die Elektroabteilung sowie die Kommissionierungs- und Logistikabteilung. Außerdem entsteht eine professionelle Vorserienfertigung.

2015:

Tim Wirtz (Enkel von Theo und Sohn von Thomas) beginnt sein Maschinenbaustudium und eröffnet nunmehr die 4.Generation. Das Unternehmen beschäftigt über 70 Mitarbeiter.

2016:

Es wird eine Lagerhalle mit 650m² ergänzt. Dadurch werden die Montageflächen erheblich entlastet und eine professionellere Logistik erzielt. Die gesamte Betriebsfläche hat nun knapp 5.000 m²

2019:

Weitere Expansionsmöglichkeiten sind hinzugekommen. 350m² Bürofläche mit 1400m² Baufläche in optimaler Lage für eine zusätzliche Fertigungshalle stehen  bereit.

2019:

Auf Bewährtem aufbauen und weiterentwickeln – das ist der Leitspruch seit nun knapp 40 Jahren Wirtz Werkzeugbau GmbH. Generationenübergreifend den Finger am Puls der Zeit haben, muss die Marschrichtung für die erfolgreiche Fortsetzung der Historie sein. Wie die Vergangenheit, wird sicher auch die Zukunft spannende Zeiten mit sich bringen – wir freuen uns darauf.

Kontakt

Breuershofstraße 19 / 47807 Krefeld

© 2019 by Wirtz Werkzeugbau GmbH

Tel. 0049 (0) 2151 31970

Email:  info @ wirtz-werkzeugbau.de